Parco delle Madonie

Parco delle Madonie

What to visit
Parco delle Madonie Parco delle Madonie Parco delle Madonie Parco delle Madonie Parco delle Madonie


The Madonie Park is a regional nature park planned in 1981 (Law 98 of the Sicilian Regional) and set up on 9 November 1989; It includes fifteen municipalities in the province of Palermo in Sicily (Caltavuturo, Castelbuono, Castellana Sicula, Cefalu, Collesano, Geraci Siculo, Gratteri, Isnello, Petralia, Petralia Sottana, Polizzi Generosa, Pollina, San Mauro Castelverde, Scillato and Sclafani Bagni). [ 1]

It includes the Madonie mountain range, on the northern coast of Sicily, between the rivers and Imera Pollina.

The park is home to more than half of the Sicilian plant species, and in particular most of those present only in Sicily (such as Abies nebrodensis endangered in Vallone Madonna degli Angeli).

For the wildlife there are more than half of the species of birds, all species of mammals and more than half of invertebrate species in Sicily.

Noteworthy are also the geological peculiarities. The geology of Madonie is the focus of studies and research since the sixties. Due to the geological interest of mountain chain Madonie 2003 Park Madonie has joined the European Geopark network whose members are more than twenty geological parks and non-European.